Chinese companies in fake North Korea documents scam

by Michael Rank

Chinese traders are using fake documents to export goods to North Korea, the Chinese embassy in Pyongyang warns on its website.

The terse, two-sentence statement dated April 4 gives no details of the forged “[North] Korea export licences” scam, but says the North Korean authorities have confirmed the documents are fake and urges “relevant companies not to be easily deceived.”

Perhaps the biggest surprise is that the Chinese embassy in Pyongyang has a website at all, and a fairly active one at that. It has plenty of links, on Chinese-North Korean economic, cultural and educational ties, speeches by the ambassador and that sort of thing but not a lot of hard news or useful information.

There is no Chinese comment on the recent North Korean missile test, which is perhaps eloquent in itself, though there is a profile of the current ambassador, Liu Xiaoming, who spent much of the 1990s in the Chinese embassy in Washington (he was minister counsellor 1998-2001) and also in the North American section of the Chinese Foreign Ministry.

There’s also a list of all Chinese ambassadors to the DPRK since 1950, with photographs and brief biographies.

The Chinese website is here and there’s even an English version though it hasn’t been updated since February.


One Response to “Chinese companies in fake North Korea documents scam”

  1. Alan B. Barley says:

    Interesting — But, not unexpected — the Web site for the Chinese Embassy in Pyongyang is hosted by ATT in Silver Spring MD.

    RESULTS of WHO-IS query to the Public Interest Registry

    Domain ID:D1075115-LROR
    Created On:09-Feb-1996 05:00:00 UTC
    Last Updated On:17-Feb-2005 16:06:12 UTC
    Expiration Date:10-Feb-2010 05:00:00 UTC
    Sponsoring Registrar:Network Solutions LLC (R63-LROR)
    Registrant ID:19949497-NSI
    Registrant Name:Chinese Embassy in the United States
    Registrant Organization:Chinese Embassy in the United States
    Registrant Street1:2300 connecticut Avenue, NW
    Registrant Street2:Apt 407
    Registrant Street3:
    Registrant City:washington
    Registrant State/Province:DC
    Registrant Postal Code:20008
    Registrant Country:US
    Registrant Phone:+1.2023282511
    Registrant Phone Ext.:
    Registrant FAX:+1.2025880032
    Registrant FAX Ext.:
    Registrant Email:[email protected]
    Admin ID:21037605-NSI
    Admin Name:ATTI
    Admin Organization:ATTI
    Admin Street1:1738 Elton Road, Suite 121
    Admin Street2:
    Admin Street3:
    Admin City:Silver Spring
    Admin State/Province:MD
    Admin Postal Code:20903
    Admin Country:US
    Admin Phone:+1.30144564
    Admin Phone Ext.:
    Admin FAX:
    Admin FAX Ext.:
    Admin Email:[email protected]
    Tech ID:21037605-NSI
    Tech Name:ATTI
    Tech Organization:ATTI
    Tech Street1:1738 Elton Road, Suite 121
    Tech Street2:
    Tech Street3:
    Tech City:Silver Spring
    Tech State/Province:MD
    Tech Postal Code:20903
    Tech Country:US
    Tech Phone:+1.30144564
    Tech Phone Ext.:
    Tech FAX:
    Tech FAX Ext.:
    Tech Email:[email protected]
    Name Server:NS.FMPRC.GOV.CN
    Name Server:NS3.FMPRC.GOV.CN