(UPDATED) DPRK signs ASEAN non-agression treaty

UPDATE: From Voice of America:

North Korea’s foreign minister signed the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation – often called the TAC – at the conclusion of the Association of Southeast Asian nations regional security forum, Thursday in Singapore.

The deal was drafted in 1976, and has been signed by all of ASEAN’s ten members, plus 14 other nations including South Korea, with whom North Korea has never formally concluded its 1950s war.

Alan Chong, a political science expert at the National University of Singapore, says the TAC is very general, but sets a framework for peace.

“It has been morally binding in a positive way rather than legally binding. It is a diplomatic device that commits signatories to this notion of a minimal peaceful coexistence, you know, ‘Don’t resort to the use of arms and other physical hostile measures the moment you have international disputes,'” said Chong.

ORIGINAL POST: According to Bloomberg:

North Korea agreed to sign the Association of Southeast Asian Nations’ non-aggression treaty, Kyodo News reported yesterday, citing a letter by the communist state’s Foreign Minister Pak Ui Chun.

North Korea has requested the treaty not be imposed on its relations with countries outside the 10 ASEAN members, the news service said, citing the letter from Pak to Singaporean Foreign Minister George Yeo, ASEAN current chairman.

ASEAN member nations: Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam.

Read the full stories here:
North Korea Signs On to Southeast Asia ‘Amity’ Pact
Voice of America
Kurt Achin

North Korea to Sign ASEAN’s Non-Aggression Treaty, Kyodo Says
Takahiko Hyuga


Comments are closed.